Ashwin adopted a new bowling run-up as he ran across the umpire in his follow-through in the morning session on Saturday at Green Park. The on-field umpire, however had issues with Ashwin’s follow-through while bowling as the spinner was running across the line of sight for the umpire and blocking his view.
Menon and Ashwin had a long chat regarding same as later stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane had to intervene, but the off-spinner didn’t stop and continued doing it from the next delivery.
This went on for almost three overs with Menon and Ashwin constantly having a chat about it. Actually, the issue was about Ashwin blocking Menon’s view but as far as he was preventing himself from landing on the danger area, which the bowler wasn’t, there wasn’t anything illegal that the off-spinner was doing.
Former India opener Aakash Chopra took to social media to share his thoughts on R Ashwin’s follow-through.
“There’s no merit in distracting the umpire. Yes, you have the DRS. But the impact of an ‘umpire’s call’ must never be taken lightly,” Chopra said.
Former India batter WV Raman also shed light on Ashwin’s tactics, saying:
“The umpire’s contention could be that his view will be blocked with @ashwinravi99 running across him in his follow through.
“Of course, with Ash staying within the danger area, the warning cannot be issued. Trust Ash to create a conundrum even for umpires,” Raman added.