• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
  • Skip to footer
Probatsman.Com Logo

ProBatsman

  • Home
  • Cricket News
  • IPL 2022
  • India vs West Indies
  • Fantasy Tips
  • Match Predictions
  • Featured
  • WTC
  • Home
  • Cricket News
  • Fantasy Cricket Tips
  • IPL
    • IPL 2021
    • IPL 2020
    • IPL 2022
  • Women’s Cricket
  • T20 World Cup
  • Cricket Stats
  • Cricket Teams
    • Afghanistan
    • Australia
    • Bangladesh
    • England
    • India
    • Pakistan
    • South Africa
    • Sri Lanka
    • New Zealand
    • West Indies
    • Zimbabwe
  • Editors’ Picks
  • Featured
  • Twitter Reactions
  • Stories
Home Cricket News

Was Tamim Iqbal Out: Kyle Jamieson’s ‘Catch’ During NZ vs BAN 2nd ODI Fuels Controversy

In the match between New Zealand and Bangladesh, the decision went against bowler Kyle Jamieson who seemed to have taken a clean catch.

By: Shivani Shukla
Updated: March 23, 2021 6:18 pm

Was Tamin Iqbal Out: Kyle Jamieson's 'Catch' During NZ vs BAN 2nd ODI Fuels Controversy
Kyle Jamieson while catching a ball | Source: Twitter

The on-field umpire’s soft-signal has been a subject of debate of late. While the 4th T20I between India and England triggered a controversy after Suryakumar Yadav’s catch, taken by Dawid Malan, was considered valid, another similar controversy erupted in the 2nd ODI between Bangladesh and New Zealand where the decision went against the bowler Kyle Jamieson who seemed to have taken a clean catch.

The incident took place during the 15th over of Bangladesh’s innings when their captain Tamim Iqbal uppishly drove a fuller delivery back to Kyle Jamieson. In his follow-through, the bowler went low to his left and pulled off what seemed like a brilliant catch.

Given how close the ball was to the ground, the decision was bound to get referred to third umpire Chris Gaffaney. However, an “out” soft signal from the on-field umpire had given hopes of the hosts picking their second wicket at the Hagley Oval.

Was Tamim Iqbal out in NZ vs BAN Christchurch ODI?

Multiple replays resulted in Gaffaney overturning the on-field umpire’s decision which was hard to digest for Jamieson. In the process of taking the catch, Jamieson did ground the ball but the question was whether the ball was grounded while the fielder was in control of himself or still in the act of completing the catch.

Also Read:  EN-W vs NZ-W Dream11 Prediction With Stats, Pitch Report & Player Record of Women's T20 Commonwealth Games, 2022 For 3rd Place Play-Off

Watch Video:

How is this NOT a catch 😒 #NZvBAN pic.twitter.com/dO074dpRK2

— Fox Cricket (@FoxCricket) March 23, 2021

As for the rulebook, the MCC law states:

“The striker is out caught if a ball delivered by the bowler, not being a no-ball, touches his/her bat without having previously been in contact with any fielder, and is subsequently held by a fielder as a fair catch, as described in 33.2 and 33.3 before it touches the ground.”

Rule 33.3 states:

“The act of making a catch shall start from the time when the ball first comes into contact with a fielder’s person and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement.”

As for the controversial dropped catch, the incident took place when Tamim was batting on 34. The opening batsman went on to score 78 runs off 108 balls before being run out by James Neesham.

Twitter Reactions to Kyle Jamieson Catch Controversy

Following the decision, many cricket fans took to Twitter to express their views on the incident. While some claimed that Kyle Jamieson had clearly taken the catch, others hailed the TV umpire for making the ‘right’ decision. Here are some Twitter reactions:

How is this NOT a catch 😒 #NZvBAN pic.twitter.com/dO074dpRK2

— Fox Cricket (@FoxCricket) March 23, 2021

This happens every game. If the umpires are giving this NOT OUT then be consistent….I can't remember the last time I've seen something like this given NOT OUT #Crazy https://t.co/ymitdRq586

— Scott Styris (@scottbstyris) March 23, 2021

nothing to do with control over ball. Given not out because ball touched ground before catcher had control over his own movements. Correct decision.

— Andrew (@shortflyslip) March 23, 2021

Controversy? Only if you don’t know the laws. The ball hit the turf before he obtained “complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement”. Not out and never out.

— Jonathon Momsen (@JonathonMomsen) March 23, 2021

Under the laws it’s not out, it’s quite simple, is it fair no but that is cricket

— Naki Pistol Pete (@naki_pete) March 23, 2021

3rd Umpire needs glasses.

— Andy (@Kaihoe) March 23, 2021

Not out !!!! Correct decision made. Clearly Jamieson wasn't in control of his body when the ball touched the ground as a diving body can only be considered as in control when it comes to complete halt. #NZvBAN pic.twitter.com/bfYwLrGkTk

— Kartik O 🏏⚽🔗 (@KOCricket528) March 23, 2021

Jeez, this is more of a catch than some others that we've seen ruled as catches. Ridiculous.

— Matt Stafford (@Wraiyth) March 23, 2021

Excellent decision. Law of cricket no. 33: “The act of making a catch shall start from the time when the ball first comes into contact with a fielder’s person and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement. “
He had not done so.

— Thinker in Precedent (@didakian) March 23, 2021

Not about touching ground bro.. ball is clearly under his control… soft signal is out.. he didn’t take the ball control from ground… he is taking balance for him… he took catch in both hands and after he is taking balance for his body through balancing hand.. surely out 🤷‍♂️

— Crystal Math (@JessiHeisenberg) March 23, 2021

If it’s not out because he was NOT in control then it’s the wrong call. He’s got full control of the ball throughout. He’s held the ball for longer than a lot do when they take a catch and throw the ball away

— Paco (@melbokiwi) March 23, 2021

Excellent decision. Law of cricket no. 33: “The act of making a catch shall start from the time when the ball first comes into contact with a fielder’s person and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement. “
He had not done so.

— Thinker in Precedent (@didakian) March 23, 2021

That is a pretty clear catch isn't it?

Kyle Jamieson was fully in control of that, what a bizarre decision. #NZvBAN pic.twitter.com/svzm929Czy

— Lachlan McKirdy (@LMcKirdy7) March 23, 2021

Tags:  Bangladesh Kyle Jamieson New Zealand Tamim Iqbal

About Shivani Shukla

A random cricket aficionado.

Primary Sidebar

Latest

Virat Kohli in Team India Huddle

Asia Cup 2022: India Squad Announced – Virat Kohli, KL Rahul Return, Bumrah Misses Out 

Hasan Ali Dropped As Pakistan Announce Squad For Asia Cup 2022

India to Play Pakistan on August 28 as Schedule For Asia Cup 2022 Released

India to Play Pakistan on August 28 as Schedule For Asia Cup 2022 Released

Obed McCoy of West Indies Cricket Team, celebrates taking 6 wickets for 17 runs during the second T20I match against India

IND vs WI: Obed McCoy Dismantles Team India, Achieves Unprecedented Record

IND vs ENG: Virat Kohli Loses cool, Abuses Shardul Thakur For Poor Fielding Effort

No Virat Kohli As BCCI Announce Squad For Zimbabwe ODIs, Shikhar Dhawan Named Captain

Footer

Latest

  • IRE vs AFG Dream11 Prediction With Stats, Pitch Report & Player Record of Afghanistan tour of Ireland, 2022 For 1st T20I
  • BRI vs BER Dream11 Prediction With Stats, Pitch Report & Player Record of ECS Dresden, 2022 For Match 31 & 32
  • GMY vs SS Dream11 Prediction With Stats, Pitch Report & Player Record of Maharaja Trophy T20, 2022 For Match 5

Teams

  • Afghanistan
  • Australia
  • England
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies

Legal

  • DMCA
  • Copyright Notice
  • Disclaimer
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms & Conditions

About

  • About Us
  • Contact Us
  • Sitemap

Social Connect

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest

Copyright © 2020–2022 • ProBatsman.Com

MOSTBETIN1MOSTBETIN1