Shubman Gill was dismissed in a controversial way in the final innings of the World Test Championship (WTC) Final off Scott Boland’s bowling. The ball, after Gill edged it, flew towards Cameron Green in the slip cordon where the tall all-rounder stretched his arm to grab it.
The decision, however, was taken to the third umpire, who after several reviews, ruled Gill out. The Punjab batter, alongside captain Rohit Sharma, looked dissatisfied with the decision. Take a closer look at the wicket here:
The decision stirred up debate because it was clearly visible to everyone present that the ball touched the ground.
While fans and experts voiced their frustration, the former India head coach, who was doing live commentary, cheekily took a swipe at the third umpire, insinuating that had Steve Smith been the player involved, he would have been granted a ‘not out’ decision by the third umpire.
Here’s what Ravi Shastri said:
“If it was Steve Smith in place of Shubman Gill, Umpire would have given this as Not Out.”
Following Shubman Gill’s departure, Team India suffered the quick dismissals of Rohit Sharma and Cheteshwar Pujara in succession. Both batsmen fell victim to reckless shots, with Rohit being dismissed after scoring 43 runs, while Pujara could only muster 27 runs.